EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

Oklahoma American Indian Websites and Resources


Lesson Activities

The American Indian Cultural Center & Museum; http://www.theamericanindiancenter.org


Oklahoma tribes; Tribal Government List page showing executive officer, location of Tribal Headquarters, and tribal website links; http://www.theamericanindiancenter.org/oklahoma-tribes

History of Oklahoma; timeline; links to “Five Tribes”; “Trail of Tears”; tribes of “Southeast Culture” and “Great Plains Indians”;http://www.native-indian-tribes.com/history-of-native-americans/history-of-oklahoma-indians.htm

Spiro Mounds; YouTube video and history:

Plains Indians; Power Point presentations,Legends, activities for Kids, lesson plans;http://nativeamericans.mrdonn.org/powerpoints/plains.html

“Trail of Tears and the Forced Relocation of the Cherokee Nation” lesson plan; Nation Park Service;http://www.cr.nps.gov/nr/twhp/wwwlps/lessons/118trail/118trail.htm

Cherokee Nation and Government Point of Views Regarding Removal, lesson plans and documents; teach US History;http://www.teachushistory.org/indian-removal/lesson-plans

Teaching with Documents: Maps of the Indian Territory, the Dawes Act, and Will Roger’s Enrollment Case File; documents, Standards (not Oklahoma), teaching activities; modify to 3rd grade level;http://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/fed-indian-policy/

The Journal of Jesse Smoke: A Cherokee Boy; lesson guide, grades 6-8, Dear America & Scholastic;http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/lesson-plan/journal-jesse-smoke-discussion-guide



Tribal Websites for Kids

Chickasaw Interactive website; History, Language w/ audio; Educational games & activities; Recipes;http://www.chickasawkids.com/

Choctaw legends; https://www.choctawnation.com/history-culture/heritage-traditions/childrens-stories

“The American Indian Facts for Kids”, Links to various Tribal Websites by Orrin Lewis, Cherokee: (history, languages, games…) http://www.native-languages.org/kids.htmCherokeeChickasawChoctawCreek,and Seminole.

Printable resources for kids; http://kiowakids.net/


FIVE TRIBES

CHEROKEE
Official site of the Cherokee Nation; government; culture, history, maps (“About the Nation” menu);www.cherokee.org
CHICKASAW
Chickasaw Nation; history, culture, arts, language; http://www.chickasaw.net/Chickasaw Cultural Center; interactive museum, theater, classes; http://www.chickasawculturalcenter.com/
CHOCTAW
Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma; documents, “The Indian Reorganization Act”, “Constitution of the Choctaw Nation”; history; treaty dates; Pre and Post Removal Government Treaties; culture;http://www.choctawnation.com/

Choctaw Nation; see “Choctaw Culture” menu/classes; Power Point presentations on Choctaw History, Traditional Foods, Moccasins, Pottery; http://www.choctawnationculture.com/default.aspx

School of Choctaw Language, lessons, vocabulary, galleries; http://www.choctawschool.com/classes.aspx

Choctaw Code Talkers, history;https://www.choctawnation.com/history-culture/people/code-talkers

CREEK
Muscogee (Creek) Nation, history, language; Museum & Cultural Center; http://www.muscogeenation-nsn.gov/

Muscogee (Creek) Constitution;http://thorpe.ou.edu/constitution/muscogee/index.html

SEMINOLE
Seminole Nation; see “Culture” menu for culture, history, language lessons: https://pumvhakv.sno-nsn.gov/ 

Seminole Nation Oklahoma Museum:  https://pumvhakv.sno-nsn.gov/

Other Tribal Sites

Absentee Shawnee Tribe; See “Cultural” link for history; https://www.astribe.com/

Apache Tribe of Oklahoma; history and culture;https://www.astribe.com/

Caddo Nation Website; history, culture, language; http://caddonation-nsn.gov/

Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribe website; Government and culture;http://www.c-a-tribes.org/

Citizen Potawatomi Nation Language - common phrases, language conversation, language dictionary, Language for children, language games, stories;http://www.potawatomi.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&id=103

Comanche Nation; constitution, culture; http://www.comanchenation.com/

Comanche; links to language, sounds and alphabet, history, bands, timeline; http://www.comanchelanguage.org/

Comanche; virtual tour of museum, exhibitions, collections, videos, gallery, language;http://www.comanchemuseum.com

Delaware Nation; history and timeline (excellent video);http://www.delawarenation.com/DelawareNationsHistory/tabid/69/Default.aspx#

Delaware Tribe of Indians:  http://delawaretribe.org/


Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma;  http://bahkhoje.com

Kaw Nation; language games; http://www.kawnation.com/WebKanza/LangPages/langlessons.html

Kaw Nation; Cultural history, Artist, Artifacts, Smithsonian Museum;http://kawnation.com/page_id=4188

Miami Nation, history, culture, frequently asked questions; http://www.miamination.com/

Modoc Tribe, history; http://www.modoctribe.com/

Otoe-Missouria Tribe, history, culture, language and activities;  http://www.omtribe.org/

Osage Nation Tribal Museum, see “Osage Tribal Museum Photo Website” link, select “Explore Collections” menu; “Osage Time Capsule” link provides historical timeline;https://www.osagenation-nsn.gov/museum

Ottawa Tribe of Oklahoma, history; http://www.ottawatribe.org/history-archives-library/

Pawnee Nation, history, government; http://www.pawneenation.org/history

Peoria Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma, history, tribal government;http://www.peoriatribe.com/

Ponca Nation; history; link to Chief “Standing Bear vs. Crook” (1879), famous Native American Supreme Court case;http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ponca_Tribe_of_Indians_of_Oklahoma

Quapaw Tribe of Oklahoma; culture, history, language “word of the week”; “Business” menu/ Museum, “Museum Exhibits”;http://www.quapawtribe.com/

Quapaw; language online lessons, see reference guide link also;http://www.quapawtribe.com/index.aspx?NID=89

Sauk (Sac & Fox of Oklahoma) Nation; language video, (PDF) Language Workbook; (PDF) Concise Dictionary;http://www.talksauk.com/

Seneca-Cayuga Tribe; culture, history; http://www.sctribe.com/

Shawnee Tribe; history; http://www.shawnee-tribe.com/

Thlopthlocco Tribal Town; history;http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thlopthlocco_Tribal_Town

Tonkawa Tribe; government, constitution, history, culture; http://www.tonkawatribe.com/

United Keetoowah Band of Cherokees; select “About UBK” menu, links to history, language, culture; “Government”, constitution; http://www.keetoowahcherokee.org/

Wichita & Affiliated Tribes; “culture” menu, history, language; http://www.wichitatribe.com/culture/wichita-tribal-history-center.aspx

Wyandotte Nation; Culture, treaties, history, myths, language, photos; maps showing ownership;http://www.wyandotte-nation.org/

Additional Websites for Oklahoma American Indian History

American Indian tribes of Oklahoma; Languages; Links to Tribal Nation’s website http://www.native-languages.org/oklahoma

History, people, maps, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Native_American_tribes_in_Oklahoma

Oklahoma’s Indian culture and history; http://www.travelok.com/article_page/oklahomas-rich-indian-history

Indian Nations and Route 66

http://www.americanindiansandroute66.com/oktribes

George Catlin - Indian Gallery; history and exhibits http://americanart.si.edu/catlin/highlights.html

Gilcrease Museum Collection of Native American Art http://gilcrease.utulsa.edu/Explore

Oklahoma Timeline http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ok/state/timeline.html

University of Oklahoma Western History Collection: Doris Duke Collection; Indian Pioneer Papers; Native American Manuscripts; http://digital.libraries.ou.edu/homehistory.php

last updated 6/19/2018